Musica Pacifica

Musica Pacifica
Alla Napolitana

Saturday, January 14, 2017 | 7:30 PM
Nordstrom Recital Hall
Preconcert Recital with Early Music Underground | 6:30 PM
Read the Program Notes
purchase tickets
*You will be redirected to the Benaroya Hall website*

Judith Linsenberg, recorder
Elizabeth Blumenstock and Katherine Kyme, violins
William Skeen, cello
Charles Sherman, harpsichord
with Tekla Cunningham, viola, and John Lenti, theorbo

Lauded for both dazzling virtuosity and warm expressiveness, Baroque ensemble Musica Pacifica presents rarely performed chamber concertos for recorder, two violins, and continuo by the Italian masters Alessandro Scarlatti, Nicola Fiorenza, and Francesco Mancini. A trio sonata by Nicola Matteis, a virtuosic harpsichord sonata by Domenico Scarlatti, and an unusual duo for two violins without bass by Francesco Barbella are featured in this one-of-a-kind program.

“Lively virtuosity and…a wonderful feeling of vivacious spontaneity, belied by stunning precision of execution.” —Los Angeles Times


Concerto in A minor for Recorder and 2 violins | Nicola Fiorenza (c.1700-1764)

Sonata in D minor for Cello | Alessandro Scarlatti (1659-1737)

Concerto No. 2 in G minor | Francesco Durante (1684-1755)

Concerto in G major for Flute and strings | Giovanni Battista Pergolesi (1710-1736)

Sonata No. 9 in A minor for Recoder and 2 violins | Alessandro Scarlatti

Sonata in F minor K. 69 | Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

Sonata in C minor K. 56 | Domenico Scarlatti

Duetto IV in G major, from “Six Duos pour deux Violons” | Emanuele Barbella (1718-1777)

Concerto XIV in G minor for recorder 2 violins and viola | Francesco Mancini (1662-1737)

Make Your Gift Today!
Join Our Mailing List
Media Sponsor:
Welcome Teens!

TeenTix members can attend Early Music Guild performances for just $5! Visit to sign up.